Where’s Carlos?

Yeah, nice bike Carlos; pity I only got to see the back of it.

I’ve always thought this might happen. Carlos and I have pretty much matched each other most of the time when we’ve gone out for a ride. But all the while he’s been on a mountain bike – heavy, fat tyres, suspension – whilst I’ve been on my cyclo-cross bike – light-weight, thinner tyres. Not today. Admittedly I haven’t been out for a few weeks but the discrepancy was startling on every hill. We did Toys Hill both ways today. Up the steep side, down the gentler, longer side into Brasted, turned around and came back up again. This last climb, apparently, is what the Ventoux will be like; a slow steady grind but nothing brutal. The good news? I got up it fine with plenty left in the tank. The bad news? Carlos had got cold waiting for me at the top.

Where’s Carlos?

Leave a Reply

