WWW.

Strava has managed to connect me with Jonny Whiting in Brisbane!  Can it really be 23 years since we followed Le Tour around Europe in a 2CV?  Sleeping on a mattress deemed too lumpy for the Tonbridge Police Station cells; surviving on baguettes, brie and chateau Hypermarche red served from a plastic barrel.

Rather than encouraging Robert Millar on Mont Saleve we painted our own names on the climb so that everyone viewing from home would be able to spot us.

IMG_3034

I love that the nonplussed Gendarmes in the background turned up in a Renault 4!

Fantastic memories and inspirational to catch up, although I don’t I deserve the legendary moniker (yet):

IMG_3033

In other online news; I’ve also created my first Strava segment.  Various titles came to mind for the aforementioned, very short, slightly uphill section from The Spa to the Travel Lodge that I struggle with every week, but I settled on “Denouement”.

Finally, amazingly, this blog is being read – thanks. Site stats showed that someone googled “Toys Hill average gradient” we were the 9th link and they clicked!

WWW.

Leave a Reply

