From Bull to Bear

Friday night; sat with Phil in The Bedford. (Brilliant pint pricing policy <4% £3, between 4% – 5% £3.50 >5% £4.) I spend a lot of £4s and Mont Ventoux in 3 hours seems a very challenging but feasible target.

Fast forward to Saturday morning – I can’t really remember getting home, I’ve got a mystery graze on my elbow and I’m feeling very, very hungover. 3 hours, pah –it doesn’t feel possible in 3 days right now…

Still feel bad on Sunday morning! Can’t face the trek over to Yorks / Toys Hill; so I climb up to the Ashdown forest – the last local climb in the book.

IMG_2980

It feels slow but the stats say otherwise. Apparently it should take 21 minutes and it only took me 27. Then speed down The Wall (frightening – but clears the head), to cycle back up it. Time feels more accurate grind up there in 9 minutes… Finish off with the climb out of Groombridge past The Crown, back to TW (6 minutes). A disappointing, slow 28 miles in total. Definitely need to change my Friday night preparation!

From Bull to Bear

Leave a Reply

